Confessions of a Novelista

Aside

Welcome to Normal

They say that pseudonyms are to protect the innocent. They forget to mention the times you’re all, “*snicker* I have no idea what so-and-so’s name is!” 😀


I found out recently from my friend “Mu” (no, not “Moo”, as in “Moogega, my nerdtastic sistah”; Mu as in “I’m using Greek letters instead of initials, this time”) that her parents, Omega and Delta Sigma, have gotten a divorce. (I was going to go with “Ben” [see above], but then I remembered Mu’s dad’s name, so I was able to swap in the appropriate character.)

Apparently, this has caused a “huge scandal” in the Sigma family. No word on the response from the…(*doesn’t know Omega’s maiden name, so shifts around for a character*)…Theta family; just that the Sigmas think that Omega and Delta were such a great couple and they never seemed to fight and one of the two must have cheated and…I won’t go on.

I won’t go on because no one–other than the participants in a marriage–knows what really happened. Even the children don’t always know.

My dad divorced…Upsilon…because she partied, slept around and wouldn’t go to church with him. But what would Upsilon say about their marriage now? Would she agree that she was a stupid teenager and that my dad had every right to divorce her, or would she maintain after all these years that he was just a big fuddy-duddy?

I know that my parents got divorced because my mother was a toxic, demanding, manipulative bitch that wouldn’t leave my father well enough alone. I was there for pretty much every fight, because I was only eleven and didn’t have a lot of friends. But what else was there that I might have missed? Even sixteen years later, I can’t be certain I know all the stories.

My mom divorced Rho because he was mentally and emotionally abusive, completely unprepared to have a stepchild and had mental health issues that made being married to him difficult. I’m not ever going to take Rho’s side, because he’s an asshole and he doesn’t deserve an advocate. Yet I have to wonder if–besides what I experienced–more of what I dislike about my mother that my father also struggled with came into play.

So I come back around to say that I don’t know why the Sigmas are making a big deal about Omega and Delta’s divorce. (Other than the fact that Kappa, Delta’s girlfriend, is quite young–as I saw with my own eyes tonight.) I don’t know how the Sigmas can think they know. I don’t know how the Sigmas can make a big deal out of it. They don’t know what went on. Mu and her husband Tau have no idea what went on. Only Omega and Delta know, and those are the secrets they are keeping to themselves.

I don’t know if the statistic is still true, but it was said in recent years that more than half of all marriages in the United States end in divorce. Then what’s the problem, Sigma family? Omega and Delta are no different.

Leave a Note

